Audio Remix Project

The concept for my audio file started with the inspirational words of hard work coming from a young Jamaican boy, I really had no idea of what I was going to do but I really like the way his voice sounded and the words he was saying. I built on that idea with some Jamaican inspired music and soft hip hop, I found more videos of the little boy and came up with the idea of creating a social commentary that deals with the pressure on todays kids to grow up, make lots of money and be someone amazing, and the diminishing innocence in youth because of the people they look up to in the era.

I used a lot of backbeats such as drum sounds and piano sounds to create depth in the different beats. I had about 3 clips of various beats and I tried to use a software instrument in all of them.

Plug In’s and effects were probably my favorite things to play with. I sued different effect all throughout the song especially on the voiceovers. I also used them on my audio clips to distort, echo, and add dimension to my whole piece. I played with just about every one of the effects to see how my clips could be manipulated to get the coolest sound, and all together making the piece cohesive and fun.

I didn’t really follow a guide when it came to structure of my audio piece, I used inspirations voice overs throughout, and looped those same clips with filters in places they went well with the beat so I could keep a consistent theme.

I use the right and left controls to create space as well as effects and filters that played with sound levels and distortion.

I used base throughout the audio clips so that there was a consistent beat and I also used textures to give it a nice flow, mostly used on beats and not voice overs.

The successful elements of my work were transitions and cohesiveness. I think I did a good job of keeping a constant theme even though I have different beats that I mixed together with futuristic transitions, I think that by adding similar effects and transitions it helped the piece come together.

One thing I could have done better was maybe get a background beat that played under everything so that it could flow a little better. My audio all came together pretty well but it definitely could have been smoother overall.

** I could not get ahold of my original un-revised audio because it is on my old computer that crashed.

Leave a Reply

